Display Mercator maps

Discussions about onboard maps, online maps and Map Creators
Zaher

Display Mercator maps

Post by Zaher » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:22 am

Hi, can you please advise how to display/import Mercator maps into the app.
I can find only the pseudo-mercator
Thank you in advance

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4884
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Psyberia-Support » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:51 pm

Hi,
Sorry but I can't understand your question.
Mercator is not a map but a projection (a way to display a map).
Could you describe more precisely what you're trying to do?
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Zaher

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Zaher » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi
Sorry for the inconvenience, yes I want to know how to display Mercator projection because I can't find the option in the location format.
Hope my request is clear now :)
Thanks & regards

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4884
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Psyberia-Support » Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:20 pm

Hi again,
Do you have an example of a displayed mercator projection, like a page where I can find an example so I can better understand?
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Zaher

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Zaher » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:07 am

Thank you for your support
Sorry for not being clear before because I'm not very familiar with maps and projections.
I have a paper map with Transverse-Mercator projection with the following description:

WGS_1984_UTM_Zone 37N
Projection: Transverse_Mercator
GCS_WGS_1984
Datum: D_WGS_1984

Could you please advise how to have the same projection on the mobile application.
Thank you very much for your support.
Regards

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4884
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Psyberia-Support » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:11 am

Hi,
To use this projection in the application, open the app settings, click on "Location format" and select "UTM (WGS84/NAD83)".
To display the grid of this projection, you can have a look at here: https://www.alpinequest.net/en/help/v2/ ... e_the_grid.

Let me know if something is not clear.
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Zaher

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Zaher » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:47 am

Thank you very much for your support.
I have another issue please:
I have another paper map, the description of this map is "Transverse Mercator" only. How can I display it on the app. It is different from UTM I think right? I have different figures
Thank you for your patience and support

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4884
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Psyberia-Support » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:37 am

Hi again,

UTM states for "Universal Transverse Mercator", it's an "improved" version of Transverse Mercator that can be used all over the world.
On the other hand, Transverse Mercator only (without "Universal") is usually only used on particular areas, called Bands or Zone (example: Zone "37N" like in your case). But you will get the same results.

But if you want to use the Transverse Mercator WGS84 Zone 37N you can.
Follow this online help, click on the "Import" button (6) and type code "32637".

Let me know if something is not clear.
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Zaher

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Zaher » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:37 am

Thank you again
Yes, when I imported the code 32637 I had the same results as UTM and it is different from my map.
I wonder if it will be helpful if I gave you a random area in my map and its coordinates:
36°04'39.8 N
37°20'03.9 E
The corresponding Mercator figures are something like:
3997400 N
455200 E
As I said, the only description on the map is Transverse Mercator.
Somewhere else it is written (4th area extended into the 5th area), I don't know what is this or if it is related.
Thank you in advance

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4884
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Psyberia-Support » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:03 pm

Hi again,
I've searched and didn't find any matches unfortunately.
When a map states "transverse mercator" it usually means UTM, but you're right that there the figures don't match.
Without any additional information I won't be able to find the correct coordinate system, sorry about that...
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

Zaher

Re: Display Mercator maps

Post by Zaher » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:53 am

Thank you very much for your kind support.
If I found any additional information I will contact you.
Best regards.

Post Reply