Distance (length) display in Explorer mode

You can tell us what you like or don't like in AlpineQuest, and what you would like to see in future releases.
alexlong
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:06 am
Location: Russia

Distance (length) display in Explorer mode

Post by alexlong » Thu Aug 19, 2021 9:04 am

Is it possible to change the display of the distance (Length) in the Explorer mode view?
For example, now it is displayed as follows: 4.6 km.
I would like to see as 4.64 km, that is, with two decimal places.

If this is not a serious basic setting, then I ask you to consider adding this to user settings list.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Ingensor
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:23 am

Re: Distance (length) display in Explorer mode

Post by Ingensor » Thu Aug 19, 2021 1:16 pm

core.distances.condensed_factor_decimals=2

alexlong
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:06 am
Location: Russia

Re: Distance (length) display in Explorer mode

Post by alexlong » Thu Aug 19, 2021 5:19 pm

Is it a "regular" user settings string or is it something like undocumented features?
Do you think it is better to apply it as a regular behavior and always display 4.53 instead of 4.5?

Psyberia-Support
Site Admin
Posts: 4898
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: Distance (length) display in Explorer mode

Post by Psyberia-Support » Fri Aug 20, 2021 6:55 am

Yes, in the explorer mode the precision is voluntarily reduced so numbers can displayed bigger.
By default there is only one decimal precision, but you can change this using the settings given by Ingensor.

Know I realize it can be done better (depending on the size of the number):
- if the distance is less than 10 km, I can display decimal 2 digits (use the regular setting precision), this way you have 3 significant figures;
- if the distance is between 10 and 100 km, I can display 1 decimal (use the "reduced precision" setting), it will still have 3 significant figures;
- if the distance is greater then 100 km, only one decimal will be displayed in very small (this is already the case for the "done so far" display).
Do you like AlpineQuest ? Leave a small comment on Google Play !

alexlong
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:06 am
Location: Russia

Re: Distance (length) display in Explorer mode

Post by alexlong » Fri Aug 20, 2021 7:43 am

Thanks. I think it is a very good idea. It would be great to see it in AlpineQuest.

Post Reply